2019 Agenda

Thursday, August 29

11:30 am
On-Site Registration & Check-In Opens

1:00 pm
Welcome & Opening Remarks
Tom Feeney, AIF

Jon Steverson, Foley & Lardner LLP

1:20 pm
Water Utility Challenges and Opportunities
Representative Stan McClain (R-Ocala)
Greg Munson, Gunster
Lisa Wilson-Davis, City of Boca Raton
Kevin Carter, Broward County
Monica Autrey, Destin Water Users
Todd Swingle, Toho Water Authority
2:10 pm

Water Infrastructure Funding
With Frank Bernardino, Anfield Consulting & Rob MacLean, SouthWest Water Company

2:50 pm

3:10 pm
What Are We Going to Do with All the Septic Tanks?
Rep. Josie Tomkow (R-Auburndale)
Tom Frick, FL Dept. of Environmental Protection
John Miklos, Bio-Tech Consulting
Robert Kermitz, England-Thims & Miller
Robert Sheets, Government Services Group
4:00 pm
Potable Reuse Commission: A Status Update and Next Steps
Representative Bobby Payne (R-Palatka)
Paul Steinbrecher, JEA
Brian Wheeler, City of St. Cloud
Lynn Spivey, City of Plant City
Kerry Kates, Florida Fruit & Vegetable Association
Laura Donaldson, Manson Bolves Donaldson Varn
5:00 pm
Networking Reception

7:00 pm
Sponsor’s Dinner
All others, dinner on your own

Friday, August 30

8:00 am
Breakfast Available

8:30 am
Potable Reuse in a Decade?
Representative Chuck Clemons (R-Jonesville)
David Childs, Hopping Green & Sams
Robert Beltran, Hydro Solutions Consulting
Suzanne Mechler, CDM Smith
Chuck Drake, Tetra Tech
9:20 am
Aquatic Weed Control
Representative Rick Roth (R-Palm Beach Gardens)
Dr. Jason Ferrell, UF IFAS
Carlton Layne, Aquatic Ecosystems Restoration Foundation
Jerry Renney, Applied Aquatic Management
9:50 am
Lake Okeechobee and Everglades Restoration
Senator Kathleen Passidomo (R-Naples)
Drew Bartlett, South Florida WMD
Ernie Barnett, Florida Water and Land Advisors
Chris Pettit, FL Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services
Daniel Levy, AECOM
10:40 am
A Preview of the 2020 Legislative Session
Jon Steverson, Foley & Lardner
Senator David Simmons (R-Longwood)
Representative Holly Raschein (R-Key Largo)
11:10 am
Water Management Districts - Recent Successes and 10-Year Forecast
Representative Toby Overdorf (R-Stuart)
Drew Bartlett, South Florida WMD
Brian Armstrong, Southwest Florida WMD
Dr. Ann Shortelle, St. Johns River WMD
Hugh Thomas, Suwanee River WMD
Brett Cyphers, Northwest Florida WMD
12:00 pm
Closing Remarks
Tom Feeney, AIF